BD Beats 2024

Broadview Danforth Beats 2024

Bands

Rudy Ray

Raha Javanfar Band

Ori Dagan

Fat Quarter Band

Joanne Powell

Linda Carone

Suzi & Doug

Fraser Melvin Band

Tim Bovaconti Band

Graham Nicholas Band

Toronto Jazz Collective

Alex McCulloch Band

Mike T Kerr Band

Carl Bray Band

Tzevi Sherman and the 401 Express

Chloe Watkinson Quartet

All Angels Jazz Band

Quality Building Supplies

Hammond Morgan

Adam Beer Colacino

Roast Chicken Ramblers

Kyle Sullivan

Alan Zamaitis Trio

Fergus Hambleton

Jessica Stuart Trio

The Del Fi's

Ricky Toledo Band

Roots Down Band

Sean Stanley Trio

Sponsors

We are incredibly grateful for our new and returning sponsors that help make BD Beats come true

Accessibility Sponsor Choice Properties

Teuta Guci Real Estate

Carrot Common Shops, Grocery, & Health Professionals

Schedule

Check back frequently as we add more bands!

 Date 337 Danforth Ave Parkette
6pm - 9pm
156 Danforth Parkette
6pm - 9pm
348 Danforth Carrot Common Courtyard
1pm - 4pm
Thu Jun 6 Rudy Ray Fraser Melvin Band  
Fri Jun 7 Raha Javanfar Band Tim Bovaconti Band   
Sun Jun 9      Graham Nicholas Band
Thu Jun 13 Ori Dagan All Angels Jazz Band   
Fri Jun 14 Rudy Ray Quality Building Supplies   
Sun Jun 16      Hammond Morgan 
Thu Jun 20 Rudy Ray Ricky Toledo Band  
Fri Jun 21 Ori Dagan Fergus Hambleton  
Sun Jun 23      Roast Chicken Ramblers
Thu Jun 27 Fat Quarter Band Jessica Stuart Trio  
Fri Jun 28 Rudy Ray The Del Fi's  
Sun Jun 30      Alan Zamaitis Trio
Thu Jul 4 Rudy Ray Toronto Jazz Collective  
Fri Jul 5 Chloe Watkinson Quartet Alex McCulloch Band  
Sun Jul 7      Alan Zamaitis Trio
Thu Jul 11 Ori Dagan All Angels Jazz Band  
Fri Jul 12 Rudy Ray Tim Bovaconti Band  
Sun Jul 14      Alan Zamaitis Trio
Thu Jul 18 Rudy Ray Fraser Melvin Band  
Fri Jul 19 Ori Dagan Roast Chicken Ramblers  
Sun Jul 21      Mike T Kerry Band
Thu Jul 25 Joanne Powell Roots Down Band  
Fri Jul 26 Rudy Ray Tim Bovaconti Band   
Sun Jul 28      Carl Bray Band 
Thu Aug 1 Ori Dagan Toronto Jazz Collective   
Fri Aug 2 Linda Carone TBD  
Sun Aug 4      TBD 
Thu Aug 8 Rudy Ray  Fraser Melvin Band  
Fri Aug 9 Ori Dagan  Fergus Hambleton Band   
Sun Aug 11      Sean Stanley Trio 
Thu Aug 15 Raha Javanfar Band  Roots Down Band   
Fri Aug 16 Van Sulli  Tzevi Sherman and the 401 Express   
Sun Aug 18      TBD 
Thu Aug 22 Rudy Ray  Fraser Melvin Band   
Fri Aug 23 Fat Quarter Band  Roast Chicken Ramblers   
Sun Aug 25      Alan Zamaitis Trio 
Thu Aug 29 Suzi & Doug  Jessica Stuart Trio   
Fri Aug 30 Rudy Ray  Tim Bovaconti Band   
Sun Sep 1     TBD 
Friday, 28 January 2022 08:53

Struggling Toronto businesses release urgent plea for government help

Struggling Toronto businesses release urgent plea for government help Hector Vasquez

The following article by Mira Miller is from BlogTO and was first published on January 27th. 

Small businesses in Toronto and throughout Ontario have been struggling for the better part of the past two years, and many have repeatedly called on all levels of government to step up and provide additional assistance to help them get by.

And while some financial aid is available to struggling businesses, many feel it's not enough, which is why the 355 business members comprising the Broadview Danforth Business Improvement Area in Toronto sent a letter to the province and the federal government this week demanding further action.

"Our members are going through some of the toughest times brought on by the pandemic. The Federal support programs for the hardest hit businesses are appreciated and greatly needed. However, there are businesses that have decided to stay open, offer their services and keep staff employed," reads the letter.

"These businesses feel that they have been left to fend for themselves as the supports announced seem to solely focus on businesses that have had to close their doors. In many cases, the businesses that have stayed open would have been in a financially better position laying off their staff and closing their doors," it continues.

The first part of the letter, addressed to Deputy Prime Minister Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Small Business Mary Ng and Toronto-Danforth MP Julie Dabrusin, outlines the gaps in the recently announced federal measures for businesses.

It mentions how some sectors, such as retail, don't qualify for support programs since they've been allowed to remain open, despite the fact that many are operating at a fraction of their sales compared to previous years.

Other issues mentioned in the letter include the fact that income comparisons and thresholds for qualifying "unfairly ignore" businesses that stayed open or those that opened just before the pandemic, and that staffing shortages and increasing costs are not taken into account.

The BIA says the loan repayment rescheduling also doesn't go far enough to help businesses.

"According to the Canadian Federation of Independent Business (CFIB), 7 in 10 small business owners have taken on debt due to COVID-19, with the average now reaching almost $170,000 per business," it reads.

"The extension of the loan repayment deadline is helpful, but it does not address the true problem – most small/medium businesses will not be able to afford to repay the loans for a number of years."

Businesses are therefore asking the feds to reopen the wage subsidy (CEWS) and rent assistance (CECRA) as they were, and to increase the loan forgiveness amount from its current 33 per cent.

The provincial part of the letter, addressed to Premier Doug Ford, Finance Minister Peter Bethlenfalvy and Associate Minister of Small Business Nina Tangri, also outlines how some sectors are unfairly not qualifying for the grant program, property tax and energy rebates, such as retail.

With February rent almost due, the BIA points out the fact that the grant portal is not yet open to businesses, and that there are no set timelines for when businesses will receive their grants.

The letter goes on to ask the province to allow more businesses to qualify for grants, property tax and energy rebates, open the grant portal immediately for businesses to apply, and provide some clear timelines of when payments will be processed.

"At this time we are urging you to consider the plight of those whose doors are open, keeping the economy going and people employed," reads the letter.

"We realize that these are also difficult times for the government. We also do not want to unnecessarily contribute to government debt, but we think more should be done to support these suffering businesses."

 

RSS Twitter Facebook Instagram

Recent Tweets